Larne AC – New Year, New Trophies

Larne Athletic Club celebrated the New Year with an impressive club victory at the annual ‘Race Over the Glens’ trail race in Glenariff Forest Park, just outside Waterfoot. The club retained the prestigious team prize, for the third year in a row! In wet and windy conditions Justin Maxwell led the team home, covering the tough 5.5m course in 39:05 (8th place). Bernard Brady followed in 40:05 (11th place), with Wayne Morrow (40:20) just behind in 12th place.

Bryan Magee (41:18), a consistent performer in the mountains ran an impressive race to finish in 18th place. Club Chairman Andy Gregg crossed the line in 42:16, leaving the club needing just one more finisher to win the prize. After a nervous wait, it was Bert Shaw (45:04) who brought smiles to the faces of his club mates as he finished in 44th place, thus securing the team title once again.

Corey Urwin (45:09) finished just behind Bert in 45th place, before Nigel Kane (46:48) and David Noble (46:49) crossed the line in 65th and 66th place respectively. Paul Tilson (47:40) was next into view, taking 75th place, while new member John Neill clocked 48:22 (86th place).

James Robinson ran 50:07 to finish in 98th place, before Rhonda Brady (52:06) finished as first Larne AC lady, in 120th place overall. Ian Brennan recorded 53:38 (139th place), just ahead of strong running Ruth Wilson (56:18) in 164th place. Another impressive performance came in the form of Kerry Fokkens (56:37) who ran well to finish in 170th place.

David Henderson MBE and Evan Taylor, both “taking it easy” crossed the line side by side, recording 58:12 (185th place) and 58:13 (186th place) respectively before Amy Beggs finished in 1:05:58 (244th place). Two of the clubs entrants, Deon Wallace and Beverley Gaston were forced to withdraw from the race due to injury, everyone at the club wishes both a speedy recovery.